Sound Of A Woman

I stumbled across this gem in my music collection tonight.  I fell in love with it all over again. 

When it was first released, I fell in love with it because of its power (I have a soft spot for the diva voice – Adele, Celine Dion, Whitney Houston, etc…). And I fell in love because of its message of walking away from a bad situation. Having had just left an unhealthy situation at the time, the music felt empowering. 

Tonight, I heard it through fresh ears.

Yes, it’s about walking away from an unhealthy relationship. But having actually spent time learning about abuse and unhealthy vs healthy relationship dynamics, what keeps someone in a bad relationship, what keeps someone in a bad dating loop of always ending up in the same kind of relationship, etc… I hear the feminist message of empowerment. 

When I hear this song now, I envision a woman who has learned that its not enough to walk out on a bad relationship. She’s recognized that she deserves better and is not going  to settle for that shit with anyone else.  
I feel like I can appreciate this on a whole other level. 

Thank you, Kiesza, for beautiful music. 

Listen here: Sound of a Woman – Kiesza

Leave a Reply

